Location, location, location

27 11 2009

Some people worry a little when they read that I work entirely on location. There seems to be a perception that I only photograph in photogenic mansions. Not so. Working on location allows very important context for portraiture. It’s the difference between a portrait session and a magazine shoot, between reality and a “reality show”. The following are examples of images that simply couldn’t have happened anywhere else.

the wild ones

the wild ones


This is one of those slice-of-life scenes that I love so much. This only happens at the kitchen table.

kid in shed

kid in shed


Some might find the junk in this shed a distraction; I find it interesting. Some images tell a story, while others raise the questions. This is one that is very open to interpretation by the viewer.

the twins

the twins


The twins in their friend’s very, very small kitchen. It’s not grand, but it feels like home to the girls, who were much happier in their undies than the dresses they were wearing previously.

Sophia

Sophia


Still not convinced? This image was shot in the entryway to a Macaroni Grill restaurant. The light was great, the kid was in a good mood, and the location just worked.

No mansions in sight, and I prefer it that way. Character and context are much more meaningful than grand surroundings. Life happens where it happens, and the best photographs remind us of what it felt like in that moment. So don’t worry that your house isn’t featured in next month’s Home and Garden. It’s home, and that’s good enough for me.

Actions

Information

10 responses

27 11 2009
Nick

I completely agree with your perspective. Life is so much more interesting when people are comfortable with their environments.

28 11 2009
TenisD

Love Your blog!!
Kid in shed picture actualy spoke to me the most 🙂

28 11 2009
rafalr

lovely portraits 🙂

28 11 2009
Raji Barbir

Very well said and beautiful work

28 11 2009
Katrina

“Life happens where it happens”

You’ve captured and described it perfectly!

29 11 2009
Paul

This type of portrait photography is exactly why I added you to my RSS reader. Excellent work! All are very good, the first one is my favorite. That, for sure, is one to cherish and will bring laughs each time that it is viewed.

29 11 2009
Paul Lester Photography » Blog Archive » Influences

[…] that I’d like to do some portraits and would just love for my work to be on par with that of Cheryl Jacobs. I just think that her work is fantastic! That is certainly my cup of […]

30 11 2009
Paul L.

Cheryl: You set the bar very high with your portraiture. Excellent!

4 12 2009
William Massey

Hey I’ve been pouring through your website and just wanted to say your photos are amazing. The emotion is so real and you’ve even a great sense of context to each one. These are the types of photographs that remain important to families generations from now.

11 12 2009
Ed Hamlin

Great post and so true, people think that you have to have a studio to be a good photographer, I think it is totally opposite. I think the studio drones can be great but they get trapped in a sterile almost emotionless environment. everything is a cookie cutter scene. Please for those that read my comment, it is not intended to address all portrait studios, it is a generalization. Anyway.

I hope others get inspired to go outside and create.

Leave a Reply

